Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 1.40.21 PM


James Beattie — January 6, 2015

Even though Rep. John Boehner (R-Ohio) was re-elected to a third term as Speaker of the House of Representatives Tuesday, over two dozen of his Republican colleagues defected and chose other candidates instead.

Boehner received 216 votes of 408 cast, while Rep. Daniel Webster (R-Fla.) received 12 votes, Rep. Louie Gohmert (R-Texas) received three votes, Reps. Ted Yoho (R-Fla.) and Jim Jordan (R-Ohio) received two votes apiece, and Senators Rand Paul (R-Ky.) and Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.), along with Reps. Trey Gowdy (R-S.C.), Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.), and Jeff Duncan (R-S.C.), received one vote. Former Secretary of State Colin Powell also received one vote.

In all, 25 GOP votes were cast against Speaker Boehner, who was sworn in Tuesday. In 2013, only 12 such votes were cast, according to The Hill, which on Monday predicted as many as 17 could defect from Boehner.

The Washington Post noted this was the “biggest revolt” at a speaker vote in at least a century:


House Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) received 164 votes, with nearly every Democratic vote going her way. A dozen Democrats in New York’s delegation were not present as they were attending the late former Governor Mario Cuomo’s funeral at St. Ignatius Loyola Roman Catholic Church in Manhattan, noted Politico.

Some on Twitter were being comical, tying in the Baseball Hall of Fame announcement for the Class of 2015, which took place at the same time.


New Gruber Video Surfaces: “I Helped Write It”

When he testified before Congress this week, Jonathan Gruber downplayed his involvement in drafting Obamacare legislation. But, another video of Gruber hyping his involvement has emerged. Dr. Gruber told students in Principles of Microeconomics at MIT that his role in drafting the healthcare albatross may cause him to be biased while lecturing on the topic.

“Full disclaimer, I am going to describe it objectively, but I helped write it. I’ll be objective. I’ll try to be objective, but just full disclaimer, I was involved in writing the legislation. So, there is some bias involved here.”

Multiple videos have emerged of Gruber saying the public was intentionally misled and the bill was fashioned in a “tortured” way to take advantage of the “stupidity” of the American voter. He said that if it were written transparently, the bill would never have passed.

After the videos began to emerge, President Obama and Nancy Pelosi denied Gruber’s importance in writing the legislation. Pelosi at one point even denied knowing who Gruber was. Then video surfaced proving both of them lied.

Ironically, the man who helped write Obamacare and was paid millions of dollars to help implement it, may be the catalyst in its demise simply by being honest.

Will Gruber’s comments be the final straw for Obamacare? Please comment below.

Read more:

Obama ‘Froze the Pool’ of GOP Votes: Mark Halperin

Dec. 11 (Bloomberg) — On “With All Due Respect,” Mark and John debate whether the president’s endorsement of a big ol’ spending bill has backfired. (Source: Bloomberg)

Bloomberg Politics leads Bloomberg’s political coverage across all platforms: Web, mobile, television, digital video, radio, live events and more. “With All Due Respect” is hosted by Mark Halperin and John Heilemann airs at 5p ET/PT on Bloomberg Television and is a next-generation political news site that seamlessly combines up-to-the-minute news, analysis, commentary, long-form features, polling, original video, interactive graphics, live streams and clips of “With All Due Respect.”

Mark Halperin and John Heilemann, authors of “Game Change” and “Double Down,” bring a new perspective on politics. Catch it live every night on and Bloomberg Television.

Bloomberg Politics will report on key political and cultural influencers like: Barack Obama, Michelle Obama, Joe Biden, Bill Clinton, Hillary Clinton, Jeb Bush, John McCain, Mitt Romney, Leon Panetta, John Boehner, Nancy Pelosi, Ted Cruz, Rand Paul, Paul Ryan, Chris Christie, Marco Rubio, Elizabeth Warren, Rob Portman, Martin O’Malley, John Kerry and more.